Books

What Do Primary 1 Kids/7 Year Olds Read?

o1tndlnvjlm-annie-spratt.jpg

*This post was first published in June 2013.

Today’s post is inspired by Angie of Teaching Our Own–I’d faithfully referred to some of her reading lists and reading advice when Layla was much younger as well as bought books from her online store, back when she used to run one.

I wrote about us making the leap from picture books to chapter books, and since then I’ve gone on to build a small collection of chapter books that will probably last Layla till next year. Out of curiosity, I clicked on Angie’s booklist for her son back when he was seven years old and was pleasantly surprised to find that we have a few books in common!

Here’s what Layla has read so far:
The Year Of The Book (Andrea Cheng)
Only One Year (Andrea Cheng)
Ramona Quimby, Age 8 (Beverly Cleary)
Beezus & Ramona (Beverly Cearly)
Ramona & Her Father (Beverly Cleary)

She’s borrowed more Ramona books and I’ll let her finish them, but I think it’s time to move on and here’s what’s waiting for her:

Charlotte’s Web
Peter Pan And Wendy
A Collection Of Rudyard Kipling’s Just So Stories

Raggedy Ann & Andy: A Read-Aloud Treasury
Charlotte In Giverny
Charlotte In New York

* These books were bought at the library book sale or from the Evernew Bookstore mall sale for $2-4.

Layla’s also partial to the Rainbow Fairies series; I wouldn’t buy too many, but if she wanted one as a treat I wouldn’t say no (yet). We only have two of these books anyway. The other series she enjoys is Mairi Hedderwick’s Katie Morag. These are picture books but I think they’re fun and not too childish, so I would still buy or borrow them for her. Come to think of it, we have a number of picture books that she hasn’t read yet, like our Peter Sis stories.

I’ve also bought her Roald Dahl’s Danny The Champion Of The World. I wasn’t sure if she’d take to the style and I’ve been easing her in with the audiobook version, borrowed from the library. My old iPod was lying in the drawer untouched, so I bought some speakers and set it up in her room, and she’s been listening to Danny as part of her bedtime wind-down routine. She likes it, and I’m tracking down more audiobooks at the library.

p.s. A friend recommended the Magic Treehouse series and I’ll be checking that out as well.

Standard

Leave a Reply

